Sunday, 14 October 2018

Defeat your Conservative MP

According to the article linked here:

Daniel Hannan says:
Under the proposed withdrawal terms, the United Kingdom would remain in the EU’s customs union.
"THE" Customs Union is defined in the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU) (Article 28 onwards)

Article 28

1. The Union shall comprise a customs union which shall cover all trade in goods and which shall involve the prohibition between Member States of customs duties on imports and exports and of all charges having equivalent effect, and the adoption of a common customs tariff in their relations with third countries.  
2. The provisions of Article 30 and of Chapter 3 of this Title shall apply to products originating in Member States and to products coming from third countries which are in free circulation in Member States.

Article 30
Customs duties on imports and exports and charges having equivalent effect shall be prohibited between Member States. This prohibition shall also apply to customs duties of a fiscal nature.
Thus if the PM and the Cabinet sign off on the UK staying in "THE" European Union's Customs Union then quite simply the United Kingdom will not have left the European Union and Brexit will not mean Brexit. 

I very much hope that if Mr Hannan's prediction comes to pass and this Prime Minister and the Cabinet sign off on betraying the votes and will of 17 million electors that this will cause real problems electorally for the Conservative Party. 

Put simply it is up to leave voters to vote tactically to unseat those Conservative MP's that have small parliamentary majorities. There are 57 Conservative MP's with majorities of less than 4000 votes.

Aberconwy, Angus, Ayr, Carrick & Cumnock, Banff & Buchan, Blackpool North & Cleveleys, Bolton West (Anna Soubry), Calder Valley, Camborne & Redruth, Carlisle, Carmarthen West & Pembrokeshire South, Cheltenham, Chingford & Woodford Green (Iain Duncan Smith), Chipping Barnet (Theresa Villiers), Cities of London & Westminster

Clwyd West, Copeland, Corby, Crawley, Derbyshire North East, Finchley & Golders Green, Gordon, Harrow East, Hastings & Rye (Amber Rudd), Hendon, Mansfield, Middlesbrough South & Cleveland East, Milton Keynes North (Mark Lancaster), Milton Keynes South, Morecambe & Lunesdale

Morley & Outwood (Andrea Jenkyns), Northampton North, Northampton South, Norwich North, Ochil & South Perthshire, Pendle, Preseli Pembrokeshire, Pudsey, Putney, Reading West, Richmond Park, Rossendale & Darwen, Scarborough & Whitby, Southampton Itchen, Southport

St Ives, Stevenage, Stirling, Stoke on Trent South, Swindon South, Telford, Thurrock, Truro & Falmouth, Vale of Glamorgan, Walsall North, Watford, Worcester.

Since the Conservative Parliamentary Party is intent on holding the settled wish of 17 million voters in contempt, it is up to the electors to return the compliment.

Please vote tactically and strategically for that candidate most likely to unseat the sitting Conservative MP 


No comments:

Post a Comment